Browse Source

mm, swap: fix THP swap out

0-Day test system reported some OOM regressions for several THP
(Transparent Huge Page) swap test cases.  These regressions are bisected
to 6861428921 ("block: always define BIO_MAX_PAGES as 256").  In the
commit, BIO_MAX_PAGES is set to 256 even when THP swap is enabled.  So the
bio_alloc(gfp_flags, 512) in get_swap_bio() may fail when swapping out
THP.  That causes the OOM.

As in the patch description of 6861428921 ("block: always define
BIO_MAX_PAGES as 256"), THP swap should use multi-page bvec to write THP
to swap space.  So the issue is fixed via doing that in get_swap_bio().

BTW: I remember I have checked the THP swap code when 6861428921
("block: always define BIO_MAX_PAGES as 256") was merged, and thought the
THP swap code needn't to be changed.  But apparently, I was wrong.  I
should have done this at that time.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190624075515.31040-1-ying.huang@intel.com
Fixes: 6861428921 ("block: always define BIO_MAX_PAGES as 256")
Signed-off-by: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Ming Lei <ming.lei@redhat.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
master
Huang Ying 2 years ago
committed by Linus Torvalds
parent
commit
1a5f439c7c
1 changed files with 2 additions and 5 deletions
  1. +2
    -5
      mm/page_io.c

+ 2
- 5
mm/page_io.c View File

@ -29,10 +29,9 @@
static struct bio *get_swap_bio(gfp_t gfp_flags,
struct page *page, bio_end_io_t end_io)
{
int i, nr = hpage_nr_pages(page);
struct bio *bio;
bio = bio_alloc(gfp_flags, nr);
bio = bio_alloc(gfp_flags, 1);
if (bio) {
struct block_device *bdev;
@ -41,9 +40,7 @@ static struct bio *get_swap_bio(gfp_t gfp_flags,
bio->bi_iter.bi_sector <<= PAGE_SHIFT - 9;
bio->bi_end_io = end_io;
for (i = 0; i < nr; i++)
bio_add_page(bio, page + i, PAGE_SIZE, 0);
VM_BUG_ON(bio->bi_iter.bi_size != PAGE_SIZE * nr);
bio_add_page(bio, page, PAGE_SIZE * hpage_nr_pages(page), 0);
}
return bio;
}


Loading…
Cancel
Save